President-Elect Log Q1 (June – August 2016)

President-Elect Log Q1 (June – August 2016)

President-Elect Log Q1 (June – August 2016)

Many of you have seen Candice’s President’s Log in the weekly e-blast about what she’s focused on for that week or something interesting that is happening in the League. I have decided on a more modest goal, a quarterly blog post about the role of President-Elect. I hope this regular post will give you some more insight into the role of President-Elect and answer the question, ‘What exactly does the President-Elect do?’

June: 

Leadership Retreat – Retreat planning begins in the Winter. The content and messages are owned by the President but the President-Elect also attends the planning meetings, collaborates on messages and content, and assists with the operational aspects of the program. This year, after hearing feedback from committees that they wanted more direction from leadership, Candice and I developed annual plans for every committee and included metrics for committees tied to our new Strategic Plan.

CityClub Luncheon – JLS members had a key role in the formation of the Seattle CityClub (link to their website). Every year, we host a table at their fundraising event including JLS Board Members, Managers, staff and key committee leaders.

Annual Campaign Donor Event – For the past several years, we’ve hosted an event for people who donate over $100 to our Annual Campaign. It’s a nice way to say thank you to those members and non-members that have supported us and a great way to connect with Active and Sustainer members.

Sustainer Cocktail Party – Our Sustainer members host an annual cocktail party. I had a great time connecting with Past Presidents and meeting Sustainers. I always learn something new about the League when I attend a Sustainer event.

I also spent time this month meeting with Managers. We were able to get to know each other better and talk about goals for the year.

July :

Management Council – The JLS Management Council is made up of the wing managers, Treasurer-Elect, Sustainer Manager and Management Council Secretary and is responsible for overseeing day to day operations of the League. We spend time reviewing information submitted by Committee chairs/ vice chairs from the Leadership Reporting Form, addressing issues that affect individual committees or the entire League. Management Council meets year round and meetings are open for members to attend through our Pathway to Boards program. You can register to attend through the JLS website.

In July, Managers had a chance to provide feedback on a draft version of the strategic plan.

Provisional Retreat – I attended my first JLS Provisional Retreat and it was awesome! As a transfer, I completed my Provisional year at another League so I loved having an opportunity to see how the JLS welcomes our newest members. I presented a brief history of JLS, got a chance to meet new members and even caught a few Pokémon.

Bellevue Art Museum (BAM) Kids Fair – Completed my first service shift of the year! We’ve partnered with BAM to do our Northwest Art Program for the last several years. They are a great partner and this is a super fun art-tastic event. I enjoyed working with both Active and Provisional members.

I spent some time visiting wing meetings so that I could meet more members and address any questions or concerns that Managers and Chairs may have.

August:

Transfer Social – Did you know that the Membership Committee assigns two Active Advisors to welcome/support members that transfer to our League? Women that transfer to the JLS bring a wealth of experience and great ideas from other Leagues. (I’m not just saying that because I’m a transfer, I swear!)

Board Meeting – The Board of Directors also meets monthly and is focused on the strategic direction of the League. As the President-Elect, I get to attend both the Management Council and Board Meeting. I got to run the August Board meeting as Candice was out of town. Like Management Council meetings, Board meetings are open for members to attend through our Pathway to Boards program. You can register to attend through the website.

Premier Event Meeting – Candice and I meet monthly with Kate Gonsalves (Premier Event Chair), Ali Gilson (Fundraising Events Manager), and Minda Brusse (Director at Large, Raise the Paddle Board Project). The Premier Event is our largest fundraiser and there are some great things already planned for the February 2017 event.

JLS 100th Anniversary Ad Hoc Committee Meeting – There has been an ad hoc committee made up of Actives and Sustainers that has been meeting during the past two years to begin planning for our 100th anniversary. This ad hoc committee is scheduled to become a regular committee in 2017-2018 (my presidential year).

WHEW!!That was a lot more than I thought I had to talk about. Maybe this should be a monthly post…I’ll think about it.

Before, I close I just want to point out a couple of things that are not in this post. I have not included details about answering JLS emails and phone calls but rest assured that those things are happening.

In fact, Candice and I have a weekly call (and usually lots of text messages) to touch base and keep each other informed.

I hope that you found something interesting in this post. I welcome your questions and comments. My email is jlsjenna.boitano@gmail.com.

I look forward to seeing you at a JLS event soon!

thumbnail_leadership-retreat
Leadership Retreat
thumbnail_bam_kid_fair
BAM Kids Fair

 

Leave a Reply

