Mother’s Day Brunch recipes!

Hosting a Mother’s Day brunch this year and stumped for recipe ideas? The Junior League of Seattle’s Celebrate the Rain cookbook has many great ideas to treat the best women in your lives.

Junior League member, Stacy Loya Harris, has shared a few of her favorite recipes and tips for getting this all done! Hopefully her tips and photos will help inspire you with your own brunch.

Stacy writes, “For the past few years I have been hosting a Mother’s day brunch for my Mom, Mother-in-Law and family.  This year I wanted to mix it up with a few new recipes. When I purchased Celebrate the Rain a few months ago, I was excited to see so many great brunch recipes and decided to try a few this year.  With so many recipes to choose from, I managed to narrow my list down to the Tomato Cobbler with Gruyere Crust, the Best Bacon and the Herbed Prosciutto and Gruyere Croque Monsieur.

Tomato Cobbler with Gruyere Crust (Page 41 – Celebrate the Rain)

This recipe appealed to me because I love the combination of fresh tomatoes and basil. Also, I love cheese, so the gruyere crust sounded really appealing. This recipe is not very complicated, but it is time consuming.  It takes about 3 hours from start to finish including the chilling time for the dough, baking time and cooling time.  If you are going to make it for brunch and don’t want to get up super early, it can be made the night before.

The method of making the crust in the food processor is really simple; the dough came together nicely after 8-10 seconds, as the recipe states.

While the dough was chilling, I prepared the tomato filling.  The recipe calls for 2lbs of cherry tomatoes but I substitued with 2lbs of roma tomatoes since romas were on sale that week.   I seeded and chopped the tomatoes into about 1 inch pieces.

After about an hour, I took the dough from the fridge and rolled it out on a floured surface.  I had plenty of dough to cover my 9inch pie dish.  I brushed the dough with an egg wash and sprinkled a little shredded gruyere on top, and it was ready for the oven.

The end result was fantastic!  It came out of the oven a perfect golden brown.  (See image above right.) The onions, garlic, tomatoes, basil and gruyere crust smelled delicious and tasted even better. My family gave it rave reviews.  This recipe is definitely a keeper.

The Best Bacon (Page 38 – Celebrate the Rain)

The Best Bacon really is the BEST bacon. The combination of sweet, salty and a bit of spice makes for an amazing combination.   Besides the amazing taste, the best part about this bacon recipe is how simple it is.  All you do is spread the bacon out on a rack on a foiled lined sheet pan, sprinkle with brown sugar and a little bit of pepper and cayenne then throw it in the oven for 20 minutes at 425 degrees. Viola! The BEST Bacon! In fact, I was told that this bacon and only this bacon should be made in our house from now on.

Herbed Prosciutto and Gruyere Croque Monsieur (Page 42 – Celebrate the Rain)

The final recipe I tried for my brunch is the Herbed Prosciutto and Gruyere Croque Monsieur. When I think of Croque Monsieur, I think of fancy french restaurants, so when I looked at this recipe I was surprised at how easy it sounded. It is basically a grilled cheese, except the bread gets dipped in an egg mixture and sprinkled with herbs prior to grilling it. The egg mixture with the herbs makes the bread nice and crisp and adds a layer of flavor that compliments the salty gruyere and prosciutto. So don’t be intimidated by the name of this dish, try it!

Overall, my brunch was a success! I was very happy with how all the recipes turned out and I am looking forward to trying many of the other recipes from Celebrate the Rain.”

Interested in preparing this meal for the special woman in your life this Mother’s Day, but don’t have a copy of Celebrate the Rain? Click on the title of the book and visit our webpage to order your copy by Friday, May 4, 2012, and you can get one in time to show your appreciation for all she contributes to your life this Mother’s Day.

Leave a Reply

